REVIEW: The Shadow of your Smile by Mary Higgins Clark

Well – once again I’m behind on my blogging – this time because I’ve been READING! I have three reviews coming up in the next few days for you.

For starters, I read The Shadow of your Smile by Mary Higgins Clark – a birthday book for me. I think I’ve mentioned before that I like a quick and easy read from her and that I’ve read all her books. I tend to buy them as there is usually 350 people ahead of me on the library waiting list. I picked this one up at Border’s in the new releases. This story centers on Monica Farrell – a pediatrician in NYC – whose patient has been cured of an incurable brain tumor and who is asked to testify in the Catholic Church’s investigation of possibly sainthood for a deceased nun to whom the family prayed. Monica has links to the nun, Sister Catherine, and she has no idea – but a relative seeks  to tell her, and is murdered. Add into the plot some unscrupulous businessmen, a lot of greedy people out for themselves, two star-crossed lovers, a former stalker, a hit man, a “good guy”, and your average hard-working detective, and you have a typical MHC plot.

Now I have to say – I generally enjoy these books and sit down and read them cover to cover. This one took me 4 or 5 days as I just couldn’t get overly motivated to continue reading it. Not sure why — perhaps because there were so many characters that I had trouble keeping track of them? Or maybe because the killers acted in real time so I wasn’t busy figuring out who was bad and who was good as much as I usually am in her books? Or perhaps because the whole thing seemed a bit far-fetched? Whatever the case – this wasn’t my favorite MHC – but it was a fun read.

If you’re a fan, I suggest you pick it up — (but I’d say at the library).

I give it 3 1/2 Stars.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Shadow of your Smile by Mary Higgins Clark

  1. I’ve read some of Mary Higgins Clark’s books but not all. She is rather up and down for me. It seemed like she was pumping them out so fast that there wasn’t a lot of substance to them so I stopped reading her. They also got a little spooky. But – I’m glad you had fun reading it.

Let me know what you think!