Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

THE WHOLE TOWN’S TALKING by Fannie Flagg

on December 18, 2016

cover96938-medium

Can we just talk about how much I love, love, love the writing of Fannie Flagg? Ms. Flagg’s novels are humorous, well-written, heart-warming, and at times poignant. While I have to claim that FRIED GREEN TOMATOES is my favorite, I love them all (have read them all) and particularly loved STANDING IN THE RAINBOW.

THE WHOLE TOWN’S TALKING is no exception.

Here’s the overview from NG:

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her trademark humor, wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

********************************************

I loved the characters in this novel, and how the story went through different generations. It was one of those books that I just did not want to end. I laughed. I cried. I particularly loved the whole idea of how they all arrived up at the cemetery and could talk to each other and see and hear their families (how comforting is that?!).

As a little girl I only knew Fannie Flagg as a funny lady on Match Game, but Ms. Flagg as an author reveals an intelligence and a warmth and an insight into her person that makes me feel like we would be friends.

This is a great “feel-good” story – a great one to gift for the holidays to those who like to read a book and then hug it close afterwards.

Thank you for my e-copy for review!

Advertisements

Let me know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: