Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Review of THE HEIRESS OF LINN HAGH by Karen Charlton

on October 4, 2015

cover65892-mediumlinn

Another great Thomas & Mercer find via Net Galley was THE HEIRESS OF LINN HAGH by Karen Charlton.

In this historical mystery, which is the first in the Detective Lavender series, a young woman disappears from her bedchamber, even though the door is locked from the inside. Her (half) brother and sister seem to detest her and want her out of the way. Her young house maid is heart-broken because Helen is so kind. And her “wild” brother (who literally lives ferally) is lost without her. Has she been taken by the gypsies? Is there murder afoot? Did she escape by magic? Lavender and his trusty sidekick Constable Woods are on the path to find out.

I really enjoyed this novel which is reminiscent of my beloved Holmes and Watson (though, I have to say, easier to read than Conan Doyle). I love the setting — England, moors, estates, grey misery. I loved the characters, including the mysterious woman with whom Lavender is quite taken. I loved the plotting of the mystery. I look forward to more in this series!

If you enjoy a good, British, historical mystery, pick up THE HEIRESS OF LINN HAGH.

Thank you for my review kindle copy!

Let me know what you think!

