Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Review: THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE by Erika Robuck

on May 1, 2015

cover58855-mediumHAWTHORNE

Love, love, love.

I love it when I wait for a book to come out and then read it and love it! Erika Robuck’s latest book, THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE, tells the story of Nathaniel and Sophia Hawthorne’s life together, from their courtship to his death. Erika does a fantastic job making these characters come alive. Her depictions of Concord and Massachusetts at that time (mid to late 1800’s), along with her portrayal of other Concord notables (Emerson, Alcotts, Margaret Fuller, etc.) are spot on. We see Nathaniel and Sophia as they begin married life, have their years at the Old Manse, move to Europe, have children, and come home to the Wayside. Told in Sophia’s unforgettable voice, this story reads almost as if you are peering into the inner thoughts and workings of these minds. I loved every page of it.

If you know me, you know that I spend a lot of time in Concord, hanging with the Alcotts. I am extremely picky when authors choose to write a novel that portrays the people I revere so heartily. I am incredibly critical and often have been known to toss a book aside because it seems anachronistic or unrealistic. I love Erika’s other books and actually was a tiny bit worried I could be disappointed  – but no fear. This book is spot on and a joy to read.

Sure to be one of my top picks for this year, be first in line when it comes out May 5th!

Thank you, Net Galley and Penguin Books, for my copy!

Local friends — meet Ms. Robuck (and another amazing author whom I love – Sarah McCoy) at the Concord Bookshop on May 7 at 7 PM. Meet me, too, if you want – lol!

Get this book at an indie bookstore near you!


Find it at an Indie near you! I am an Indie Bound Affiliate.

2 responses to “Review: THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE by Erika Robuck

  1. Wonderful to hear THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE is good.

    I have it to read too.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  2. […] Review: THE HOUSE OF HAWTHORNE by Erika Robuck […]

Let me know what you think!

