Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Saturday Snapshot: Bolton Fair

on August 16, 2014

If you’ve read me for a while, or are a facebook friend, you know I volunteer on the committee to run an agricultural fair in our small town of Bolton. The fair has been going for over 130 years. I organize the music/bands for the weekend.

Last weekend was the fair and a friend took this shot of my kids on one of the midway rides:

fair photo

They were just coming in for a landing!

IMG_1204

Here’s my music tent. We have bands in it all day! (where did that baby bottle come from??)

IMG_1200

I love the fair at night! So pretty!

Since I’m in the tent all day, I don’t get out too much, but there are some very cute baby animals at the fair every year, and a lot of 4-H kids with their animals. The pig races are a huge hit, though I missed them this year; and people pack in for the demolition derby at night and the (really really LOUD) monster truck rallies (fair photo):

fair photo monster truck

 

Though I have to say, I’m just kind of the quiet, music type!

Is there a fair in your town in the summer?

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Melinda at http://www.westmetromommy.blogspot.com

See her site for participation info.

8 responses to “Saturday Snapshot: Bolton Fair

  1. Sharon Taylor says:

    That fair sounds like a lot of fun. My kids would love the Monster Truck!
    Here’s my snapshot
    Sharon

  2. Louise says:

    We have a fair (although it’s called a show here), but it’s in May which is autumn for us, and it’s always freezing. That first ride looks weird – lying down- I don’t think I’ve seen one like that before.

  3. Our fair was the second week of August – I do not go anymore, no big interest but the pictures are lovely!

  4. Beth Hoffman says:

    I haven’t been to a fair in eons.The night photo is wonderful.

  5. Arti says:

    I can’t imagine a fair that has 130 years of history. Just amazing. Thanks for sharing.

  6. I haven’t been to a fair in ages, but now I want to go to one! Thanks for sharing.

  7. This looks like a lot of fun. Good for you for helping continue the tradition. We don’t have a fair in our town, but we do have “events.” I’m featuring one on my Saturday Snapshots post today:Pianos on Parade. Our Washington State Fair will happen in September in nearby Puyallup.

Let me know what you think!

