Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

A QUICK REVIEW: The Yellow House by Patricia Falvey

on February 6, 2011

Last week I read this wonderful book about a Catholic family living in the north of Ireland in the early 1900’s.  Eileen O’Neill is a young girl at the story’s onset, and little does she know that the happy way of life for her family is soon to come to an end. Eileen struggles through poverty and seeks to keep and then bring her family back together, while historical events and tragedy work to tear them apart. This story is set against the backdrop of WWI and the clashes between Catholic and Protestant, Irish and British, in Northern Ireland. Eileen’s story is also a love story, as she struggles to find happiness with her Irish nationalist husband, and tries to suppress the feelings she has for a British soldier.

I really enjoyed this novel – and felt that Falvey did a great job blending historical facts with story and (basically) romance. Eileen’s voice was so resonant throughout the telling, and she was a character I related to and rooted for. This is Falvey’s first novel, and I look forward to other stories from her!

I purchased my copy on my Kindle! 🙂

One response to “A QUICK REVIEW: The Yellow House by Patricia Falvey

  1. diane says:

    I do so want to read this book. Thanks for the nice review.

Let me know what you think!

