Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

REVIEW: The Red Garden by Alice Hoffman

on January 29, 2011

You probably already know that I love Alice Hoffman’s writing, so I was sooo excited to see she had a new novel out: The Red Garden. I purchased it for my new vice, my Kindle.
I loved, loved, loved this novel, which tells the story of Blackwell, Massachusetts – a fictional, small town in the Berkshires – from its beginning to current day. I just love this type of historical fiction, where something is traced through time, and its story is told by the people who live there. Hoffman’s story is reminiscent of the Rutherfurd books I love so much, but is much shorter and with more emphasis on the relationships of the people who live in the town. This book is at times touchingly poignant, and is at all times beautifully written. Hoffman has a way of letting you see, smell, and hear the places you visit in her books. She is one of my favorite writers.
I give it 5 Stars!!

Let me know what you think!

