Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

REVIEW: The Cradle by Patrick Somerville

on August 7, 2010

I recently went to California on vacation and brought along several books including The Cradle by Patrick Somerville. I had won this book this summer from my friends at “The Friendly Book Nook” book blog. To be honest, I had no memory of signing up for this book (but I only sign for books I know I want to read!) but I am so happy to have won it as it was the perfect plane read – short (200 pages) but satisfying!

The Cradle tells two converging stories. In the main story, Matthew Bishop searches for an antique cradle that was part of his wife’s family legacy. His wife, Marissa, is pregnant with their first child, and she will not rest until the cradle – which was taken by her mother when her mother deserted her and her father – is found. Matthew is not even sure where to start, but, as he loyally fulfills his wife’s pregnancy cravings for foods, he seeks to fulfill this craving which has become a burning need for Marissa.

At the same time, the story of Renee Owen is unfolding, ten years in the future. Renee is a children’s book author and she and her husband are preparing to send their only son off to war. Renee is keeping a secret from her past, though, and the secret is revealed as the two stories converge and intertwine.

I really enjoyed reading this novel! I’d like to thank my friends at the Friendly Book Nook for gifting me with it! 🙂

I would give this book 4 Stars!

One response to “REVIEW: The Cradle by Patrick Somerville

  1. bermudaonion says:

    I enjoyed The Cradle, too. My only complaint was that it ended too soon. I wanted more!

Let me know what you think!

