Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

REVIEW: The Body in the Big Apple by Katherine Hall Page

on July 26, 2010

When I was perusing the mysteries section at the library, I noticed a Katherine Hall Page installment that did not seem familiar. I thought I had read all of hers, but apparently I missed this one! “The Body in the Big Apple” is a prequel to the Faith Fairchild mysteries and is set, not surprisingly, in New York City. Faith is entreated into helping a childhood friend who is being blackmailed and ends up involved in a related murder. Naturally, things get complicated!

I enjoyed this book and I enjoyed reading about Faith in her younger years, as a recent college graduate who is just starting her catering business. However, I really enjoy the family element that usually runs through these books: Faith’s relationships with her husband and children. While I loved reading about New York, the mysteries usually take place in the fictional “Aleford”, a pseudonym for a nearby Boston suburb, so that makes reading even more fun for me!

All in all, it’s not my favorite Faith Fairchild mystery (it was a little less “cozy” in my opinion), but it was a good read and well-plotted.

I’ll give it 3 1/2 Stars! I got my copy from the library – my favorite place to find a book!!

Let me know what you think!

