Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Trying to Read “The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott”…

on July 1, 2010

The very lovely Dawn from “She Is Too Fond of Books” recently lent me a copy of The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees. If you know me – even a little bit – you know my complete obsession with the Alcott family. Yes, I know odd little facts about them, have read just about everything written about them, and even can be found occasionally cavorting in a hoop skirt at their museum (Orchard House) in Concord, MA. Ms. McNees has taken a summer that the Alcotts truly did visit and stay in Walcott, New Hampshire and created a tale of lost love for Louisa. It is evident that she researched her Alcotts. She does a wonderful job of tying in their philosophies, their beliefs, and their real life into this imagined daily life. However, this is a work of fiction and I just couldn’t suspend my knowledge of the Alcotts in order to enjoy it. Ms. McNees is a wonderful writer — the problem was me. Call me inflexible, call me rigid, go ahead and just call me weird, but I could not get through this book. I didn’t care what was going to happen and I knew it wasn’t true anyways, so I lost my motivation.

I know that lots of my blogging friends have read and enjoyed this novel, so please feel free to comment and provide a link to your post so that my readers can read another (more normal I suspect) perspective!

One response to “Trying to Read “The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott”…

  1. I’m working on my review of this novel right now. I read it back in the spring and really enjoyed it – BUT, I didn’t know very much about Alcott going in to the novel. That might make a lot of difference.

Let me know what you think!

