Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

REVIEW: Royal Flush by Rhys Bowen

on April 27, 2010

One thing that gives me great pleasure as a reader is when I stumble upon a new series author that I love. A week ago I was browsing my local library for cozies to read for the challenge I’m doing (www.cozymysterychallenge.blogspot.com) and came across “Royal Flush” by Rhys Bowen. It seems that Bowen writes different series of cozies and this one centers on Lady Georgiana, cousin to the King and known to her friends as just “Georgie”, 34th in line to the throne and somewhat penniless (though still with a lot of class!). She lives in England in the 1930’s. Mystery and intrigue seem to come her way. In this third installment of the series, Georgie is sent to her family’s castle, Castle Raddoch, near Balmoral in Scotland, to watch over the visiting Prince and his friends, and with the hopes of discouraging the infamous Mrs. Simpson. Unfortunately, murder follows Georgie to the Highlands and her “vacation” home turns nightmarish!

I really enjoyed this novel. I love when historical novels use real people mixed with fictitious ones, and this is just what this series does. Lady Georgie is a strong female, but not painted as “perfect in every way”. Some parts of this story had me laughing out loud, and the mystery kept me guessing until the end.

I can’t wait to read more from Rhys Bowen. I’d give this story 4 1/2 Stars!

Let me know what you think!

