Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Family Fun Audiobook Review: The Cricket in Times Square

on April 2, 2010

On a recent trip to my favorite bookstore I saw the audiobook for “The Cricket in Times Square” by George Selden. I remember loving this book when I was in third grade, so I got it to listen to in the car with my children (ages 5 and 6). Originally published in 1960, “The Cricket in Times Square” is the classic children’s story of Chester Cricket, who arrives in Times Square from his native Connecticut after falling asleep in a picnic basket of roast beef sandwiches. Chester befriends Tucker Mouse, Harry the Cat, and Mario, the young boy whose family runs a newstand in a subway station (where Chester takes up residence). The friends realize that Chester has an amazing talent — an ability to play any music that he has heard. This story is a timeless classic along the themes of friendship, loyalty, individual talent, and the love of home.

I hadn’t realized, until I checked on Amazon, that Selden had written additional stories featuring Chester and his friends. I can’t wait to check them out with my children!

Let me know what you think!

