Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Better Late Than Never….

on February 25, 2010

So — several of my friends have asked me why I did not do a “Best of 2009” blog post. To be honest, I felt there were already a lot of very good book lists for 2009, and furthermore I felt I would never be able to choose among the many wonderful books I read to pick one favorite.

However, without further ado, here is my “Best Books of 2009” list. How many made your list?

Favorite Book I read last year:  “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” by Alan Bradley

Best Written Book I read last year: “Olive Kitteridge” by Elizabeth Strout

Most Charming Read of last year: “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Book I couldn’t stop thinking about last year:  “Loving Frank” by Nancy Horan

Best Creepy/Gothic Book I read last year: “The Thirteenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield

Best Historical Fiction I read last year: It’s a tie!!! “Nefertiti” by Michelle Moran and “Peony in Love” by Lisa See

Best Cozy Mystery series I read last year: it was a tough call, but I have to go with the “Agatha Raisin” series by MC Beaton

and the final “I’m so glad I finally read some of his books because I really love them” award goes to: William Martin for his “Back Bay” and “Cape Cod” mysteries!

One response to “Better Late Than Never….

  1. drbethnolan says:

    The book I left off the list, but wish I could have added somewhere was “The Help” – I recommend it! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

