Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I've Been Reading….

Audiobook Review: Travelling with Pomegranates by Sue Monk Kidd

on February 25, 2010

I recently listened to “Travelling with Pomegranates” by Sue Monk Kidd (author of  “The Secret Life of Bees”). What an interesting book — it chronicles the author’s trip to Greece with her adult daughter who has just graduated from college. Kidd is turning 50 and reflecting on her life. Her daughter, Anne, is graduating college and is still recovering from a broken relationship. Both of them are redefining themselves and their relationship to each other, all within the framework of the trip and within the geography, history, and culture of Greece.

I enjoyed listening to this book, though it did require some thought while I was driving! Some of the passages were lengthy reflections, as opposed to action. I also needed to adjust to the authors’ gentle accents as they read it themselves. It was a nice, reflective “read” that I have recommended to my sister (who is 50 and has a daughter in her twenties!). My copy came from the library.

Let me know what you think!

