Beth’s Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I’ve Been Reading….

Saturday Snapshot: NYC – Times Square, Manhattenhenge, and more!

on June 7, 2014

This past week I attended the Book Expo America publishing event in New York City. It was HUGE and very exciting since I’m a book blogger. During the week, it was “Manhattenhenge” — one of the two days all year that the setting sun lines up perfectly with the street grid in Manhatten. Of course, the exact day of Manhattenhenge, there was cloud cover, so my picture looked like nothing much. However, two days later, it was pretty nice out and I caught this attempt:

IMG_2139

Not the greatest, but it gives you some idea of the event.

At the time we were eating at our fave place for our family: Junior’s on Broadway. Here is a shot of my son’s grilled cheese (New York style):

IMG_2135

Seriously, that was one great grilled cheese!!

Times Square is one of those places that you can hardly grow tired of, so I took a few shots:

IMG_2115 IMG_2116

I love to look at my NY pictures and think: who ARE all those people??

And of course there’s Rockefeller Center:

IMG_2124

 

All in all, it was a great conference and a fun day in the city with my family when they came to pick me up! :)

 

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Melinda of http://www.westmetromommy.blogspot.com. Check her site for info on participating!

16 responses to “Saturday Snapshot: NYC – Times Square, Manhattenhenge, and more!

  1. jmcguin7 says:

    A fu trip! We love Junior’s too.

  2. jkb4664 says:

    Lots of travel and adventure photos this week. I have been to NYC once in my life. Way back when I was 18 and a senior in HS. I was impressed then ( being a little hick from South Dakota) and I am sure I would be equally awed now. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Deb Nance says:

    I’m so envious of your trip to NY and Book Expo. You’ve made me long to attend even more.

    Here’s my Saturday Snapshot!

  4. NYC is on my travel list for places to return. I did a quick tour between getting off a cruise and going to the airport but would love to return and spend a few days seeing the sights and filling my memory cards with hundreds of photos.

    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

  5. Someday….meanwhile, I will enjoy photos and movies of Manhattan. Thanks!

    Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

  6. Great photos of New York City. You really captured the vibe, especially in your Times Square shots. I’ve only been there twice, but I’d like to go back. By the way, that cheese sandwich looks yummy, especially since the picture includes a lady in a wine glass!

  7. I think this is the first year I hardly made it into Times Square! Great pics – I like the reflection of the people in your wine glass in the pic of the grilled cheese :)

    • drbethnolan says:

      Next year!! My place was nearby so I just walked around at night. And the wine glass was kind of neat with the picture in it — and it was my husband’s!

  8. joyweesemoll says:

    Cool! I really enjoyed seeing some of Manhattan when I went to BEA. These photos took me back.

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers

