Beth’s Book-Nook Blog

Reviews of What I’ve Been Reading….

Trying to Listen to The Lacuna…

on May 27, 2010

I love Barbara Kingsolver’s novels. I’ve read them all. Well – all except her latest: The Lacuna. I saw it in the library on CD and thought that would be a great way to experience it. However, that was a bad choice for me.

Let me start by saying that this book must be very long as it transferred to something like 16 CD’s. However, Kingsolver’s Poisonwood Bible – my favorite by her – was lengthy and I had no problem getting through it. Kingsolver is a beautiful writer. Her work is certainly not a quick beach read – or at least it’s not for me – it is literature. That said, it was not a good choice for me to listen to as I listen to books in the car. I kept losing track of what was happening. When this happens while reading, I just look back and re-read, double-check things, etc.  This wasn’t an option. I’ll be totally honest when I say: I was lost.  This is a book I should definitely read in print.

So – until that day – this review remains open!

One response to “Trying to Listen to The Lacuna…

  1. I’m trying to read this book at the moment. I can see why it wouldn’t be good on audio – it is a bit complex.

    Let’s hope we both make it to the end and enjoy it!

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers

